NSU Attends Broward County Public Schools Caliber Awards

NSU’s Abraham S. Fischler College of Education & School of Criminal Justice (FCE&SCJ) attended the Broward County Public Schools (BCPS) Caliber Awards ceremony at the Greater Fort Lauderdale/Broward County Convention Center on Thursday, January 16, 2020. The annual event recognizes and celebrates BCPS outstanding Teachers, Principals, Assistant Principals, and School-Related/District Employees, which included FCE&SCJ alumna, Dr. Miranti Murphy, from Boulevard Heights Elementary School, in the Teacher of The Year category.

FCE&SCJ was a platinum sponsor of the event and awarded a tuition discount to the four winners and twelve runners-up if they enroll at the college.  Dr. Kenneth Rockensies, Associate Dean of Academic Affairs at FCE&SCJ presented and promoted the Fischler College of Education and School of Criminal Justice to over 1,300 attendees. Dr. Leonard Jacobskind, Director of Graduate Admissions at FCE&SCJ, was interviewed by the BCPS to discuss NSU’s longstanding support of the Caliber Awards. Additionally, FCE&SCJ Drs. Troy Robinson, Angie Su, Jia Borror, Michael Gaffley, Linda Lopez, and Ms. Kristin Bobineaux were in attendance.